The Lion And The Ox

A very interesting insight from Anti-Dem.

AntiDem

“One law for the lion and ox is oppression.” – William Blake

* * *

When I tell people that I don’t believe in equality, the response I get is invariably one that combines horror with incomprehension. How, people ask, could I not be in favor of equality? Equality is, after all (and as Tocqueville ably illustrated) the very business of America! How could I not think equality the most desirable state to which mankind can aspire, and that which we must work together to build? How could I not wish the government to pass laws to grant us more of it, and to want it implanted as a value in every human heart?

My reply is that they have misunderstood me. I do not say “I don’t believe in equality” in the sense that I might say that I don’t believe in Objectivism or Communism or Juche. I say…

View original post 2,510 more words

6 thoughts on “The Lion And The Ox

    1. Yes. But isn’t the growing multicultural and intense diversity ( racial, religious, philosophical) of people’s living under the same “roof” make such a principle even more difficult. I think the point of the article is not so much that we should have multiple law systems but speaks more to the damage caused by globalization. These issues are so hard to solve in a moral sense because prior to modernity some of these problems didn’t exist because for the most part rachet people’s lives in there respective lands and the varying religions weren’t so mixed together as they are today. At the rate everything is going, and after watching the far right begin to fight with each other the only possible outcome is divine intervention which will either be a great healing or the end.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would agree, if it weren’t that there are quite a few examples of intense diversity prior to modernity. Reading Einhard’s Life of Charlemagne has been a real historical eye opener on the subject. I do agree with you about Divine intervention though.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. But wasn’t the diversity of such things less extreme. At least from a philosophical or religious standpoint? Most people were theocentric and adhered to Christianity after paganism was driven out. Eastern religion stayed in the east. Islam was opposed greatly. I mean now we have modern liberal who pick and choose philosophy’s and ideologies from all sorts of schools of thought. Prior to that people just lived their lives. I guess that’s the benefit of a illiterate society with a strict hierarchy. Now everyone can read whatever they like with no guidance

        Like

      3. Certainly from religious and (slightly less so) philosophical standpoint. But more authentically diverse than modernity from an ethnic standpoint. You had the asiatic Avars, for instance living in proximity to the Frank’s, and acknowledging the Emperor’s overlordship. You even had various cultures among the Frank’s themselves, all under one law. Of interest is Einhard’s description of the Emperor’s treatment of resident foreigners: “He liked foreigners, and was at great pains to take them under his protection. There were often so many of them, both in the palace and the kingdom, that they might reasonably have been considered a nuisance; but he, with his broad humanity, was very little disturbed by such annoyances.”

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Iv always had an understanding that the old world was still diverse. I just can’t reconcile the way it is today. Literally the systematic destruction of ethnic Europeans. Granted it’s also their fault. Low birth rates and all. And I assume the fact that people have a voice in the political process so heavily plays a huge roll. Dammit! Give me a Monarch. I’m sick to death of modern politics. I feel as if life would be so less hostile of the aristocracy dealt with politics while the rest of us focused on just living our lives and worshipping our God.

        Like

Leave a Reply

